Ted Hipple Service Award

Ted Hipple Service Award

The Ted Hipple Service Award is given each year to an individual who has contributed to the ALAN organization. It is named in honor of Ted Hipple, the first and long-time ALAN Executive Secretary, who passed away on November 25, 2004. Ted shaped ALAN through decades of unwavering service and support. He was a Professor of Education at the University of Tennessee, where he was a former chair of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Previously, he was a Professor of Education at the University of Florida. He received his doctorate from the University of Illinois and was a high school English teacher at Homewood-Flossmoor High School. His most famous bit of writing is one that is often attributed to others, “A Traditional Grammarian As Poet”:

Haiku, you ku,
he She, or it kus,
we ku You ku, they ku,
Thang ku.

Famous for his flamboyant sweaters, neckties, and suspenders, Ted was a brilliant teacher, scholar, and servant to the profession. His work influenced–and continues to influence–generations of teachers and their students.


2022 Suzanne Metcalfe
2021 James Blasingame
2020 Wendy Glenn
2019 Teri Lesesne
2018 Diane Tuccillo
2017 Lois Stover
2016 Marge Ford
2015 cj Bott
2014 Connie Zitlow
2013 Rick Williams
2012 Joan Kaywell
2011 Gary Salvner
2010 Christopher Crowe
2009 Wendy Lamb
2008 Jeanne McDermott
2007 Patricia Kelly
2006 Allene Pace Nilson
2005 Bill Subick
2004 John Mason
2003 M. Jerry Weiss
2002 Terry Borzumato
2001 Don Gallo
2000 Ted Hipple